How I got harassed by e-hailing service driver.

Earlier this week, I had some issue again with my debit card and ATM machine, so I had to make a trip to the bank’s nearest branch. Since our lunch time is long, I decided to take that trip, accompanied by my colleague.
My UBER had some problem deducting from my debit card which I initially thought was due to lack of money, but turns out, my bank has terminated all online transactions via debit card and we have to activate it manually! 🙄

Anyways, instead of using UBER (also because lunch hour, UBER fare hikes!) we used GrabCar. So as usual, I made my booking via the app and waited for the driver to come. 

Everything was fine when we got into the car. 

Until he started driving. 

Let me make this clear: He did not use any maps and took alternate routes, which to be really fair, I was completely fine by it because I understand that it’s peak time and using different routes helped to avoid the jam.

It was his driving skills that bothered both my colleague and me. He made illegal turnings, sped on small roads and took corners with minimal slow downs. 

One funny thing was, throughout the entire journey, I was scared shitless but made an effort to keep the conversation going between my colleague and me. (I was in the front seat while my colleague was in the back seat. There was zero interaction between the driver and us.) 

So when we reached our destination, we were beyond glad that the journey was over. But God forbids, my nightmare was about to begin.

Once we got out of the car, I pointed out that the driver was scary. It took my colleague less that half a second to agree and she said she even wondered why was I so calm. No I wasn’t. 寶寶害怕但寶寶不說! Wtf.

Since we both agreed that the driver was indeed driving very dangerously, I rated him with one star and left a feedback. 


My colleague actually asked if I am not worried that rating him immediately will get myself into trouble? But I told her that it’s in e-hailing services’ policies to keep feedback and ratings anonymous, so he would not know where the feedback came from.

How wrong I was. 

After we settled my banking issues and had our lunch, it was about one and a half hour later that I got an anonymous phone call. The call happened when I was walking into the lift, I picked it up anyways.

As I picked up the call, the lift made its way up and I could only vaguely hear from the caller’s end asking about my name and mentioned GrabCar. But without any second guessing, I knew it was the driver. (He spoke in Chinese.)

After I got out of the lift, he called again. I told my colleague that I think it’s the driver. My colleague told me to answer it and pretend I did not give any feedback since its anonymous. 

I did as she suggested but turns out it’s pointless because I must have been the only passenger he had, either that or I rated him too soon. He was not being friendly at all and started throwing Chinese swear words at me. 

Being the non-confrontational human being that I am.. I hung up on him. But he still called relentlessly. 

And sent me a text..

I immediately reported this to GrabCar and this time, they reacted to my feedback pretty fast because I received another anonymous call (by now I’m already paranoid of any unknown incoming calls!). 

So, according to GrabCar, this driver has received several similar complaints from other customers and told me they are banning him. 

But it doesn’t end here. My colleagues advised me to just ignore his calls and one of them helped me blocked his number. He then used another number to call me which I picked up. But once I picked up, I heard nothing but swear words. 

I continued to ignore and the calls eventually came to a halt.

However, it was as if he finally figured there’s WhatsApp because he texted me onWhatsApp. He continuously texted me for about a little over an hour. 

It was when I started to feel really bad. He seems under the impression that my complain aganinst his dangerous driving was about him using alternative routes. It was a struggle between my own principles and empathy. I did cause him to lost his job. But at the same time, I was doing my part for the sake of other users.

I felt sorry that he got banned from GrabCar because it could really have been his only source of income. But I’m not sorry for lodging a report against him for unethical and irresponsible driving. 

I wanted to reply and explain to him. But my friends said since he’s no longer disturbing me, just let it lapse. And I didn’t want to piss him off further. 

Do you have any bad experience with e-hailing services?

Scribbled,

Mich

2 thoughts on “How I got harassed by e-hailing service driver.

  1. If you receive the disturb and harassing calls and texts again, please try to record everything down (texts messages and whatsapp) and report to police.

    It is his own fault since already have “amount” of complaint is apply on him, he should try to read T&C again when apply to become “G” or “U” Driver lol . . .

    Well I didn’t experience it because I didn’t use my debit/credit card for those kind of services.

Penny for your thoughts?

