Sweet.

The first post of the year. A tad bit too late, but there is always this saying that goes; better late than never. 😉

So ..

HAPPY 2014!!

5th day into the year of 2014 and here is my first post, greeting the world. Truth be told, ever since I entered university, my entire concept and perception towards the timeframe of a year has been different. A new year doesn’t really feel like a new year much except that we write 2014 instead of 2013. Basically because it’s the end of the semester and it’s finals’ season. But a new semester feels damn new. 😕

Anyway, for the first time, there won’t be any blow by blow 2013 recap nor 2014 resolutions. I guess, I could possibly, safely say that I don’t roll that way anymore? Maybe just this year (just in case I decided to do a recap by the end of this year, wtf). Main reason being is that, whenever I read posts on 2013 recap about how fruitful their 2013 had been, I’d go.. hmm. Hmm? 😐

A lot happened, of course a lot happened. But it’s the question of what I’ve gained. And it’s sort of tacit and it’s not easy to make it explicit. It’d take a whole lot of ranting. But one thing for sure, I must say, I learnt quite a lot about myself. Maybe discover would be a more suitable word. I wouldn’t say that I’ve found someone that I’ve never known myself to be, but rather know better of myself? Okay. That’s quite complicated. 😕

I should probably save that for another 21 Perceptions. So back to the title; Sweet.

Yes. Sweet.

It has been literally, I said literally, the sweetest week of my entire life. Since 30th of December last month; last year; this Monday, I was sort of snatched out of my room and went all the way to Bangsar for Alexis. Been craving for Alexis quite some time and was a bit in the blue on 30th but then Jivi called me and asked if I were up to go out for yumcha with Thai. Figured I could use some company? She said yumcha and I ended up being brought to Alexis and we had cake. 😀

Just when I thought that was that, since the original plan for NYE was cancelled so I slept all the way until 1 in the afternoon on the next day and on a random impulse decision, thought I’d just drop by Mid Valley and buy some stuff that I’m short of at the same time post a parcel off to a friend. But then, I don’t feel like doing it alone so I texted Jivi, and she said yes even on a random notice.

Jivi and our hoodie.

Yup, that’s Jivi. And we bought the same hoodie from Uniqlo together and wore it straight away. Simply went to the counter and told the cashier to tag it, paid and wore it out of the shop. I DID feel guilty, just so you know, but I really liked the design and it was .. on a promotion. We reckon it’d be fun to wear the same hoodie to conference or even meetings. Meyh. But I really love this hoodie. Fits snugly. I blame Yin Han, seriously. She was the one who showed it to me. Bless her. HAHA.

Also, on a random decision, we both decided that we should watch Frozen. Everyone was saying that the movie was really nice, yada.. yada! So the movie was nice. Typical Disney movie, not astoundingly nice but still nice. It’s been a while since I watched any Disney movies, I think. I love the movie for Idina Menzel’s voice though. Oh yeah, the sweet point in this was, we had pop corn right after we had our quite filling lunch because she said: Who goes into a cinema without pop corn? And also a cup of Heaven and Earth ice lemon tea.

Halfway through the movie, Iylia called. She was supposed to be spending NYE with Iylia and Wen Jun which was their original plan. And I thought.. after getting my stuff done, I’d wait until Iylia pick Jivi up and I’d head back to my hostel. Because honestly, I really didn’t feel like it. At all. But my conscience hits because she basically spent her whole afternoon with me on a very random notice, not to forget listened to me rant on and on about my issues yet not judging. And basically tried her best to make me feel better. So, I said yes. We were told to have something to fill our stomach first before being picked up from Mid Valley, and we had, of all things for dinner –  Snowflake.

Like that was not enough, after Iylia picked us up, it so happens that we went Bangsar again, and another round of cakes, this time with macarons! 😛 Ahh. By then, I already felt like.. oh my, enough of sweet things alright? It did not end here. After that, we decided that we should find a jazz bar and sit down while waiting for the time to strike before heading to Putrajaya for fireworks. But it so happens that the place we thought we’d go was pack, passed by Bukit Bintang and god forbids, the crowd can swallow you up. It felt claustrophobic even I was in a car and was just looking out from the window at the crowd. 😕

And then we waited for Kae Sen at a mamak near our university, I ordered banana milk. 🙄

From left: Jivi, Wen Jun, Iylia

Crapped there until around 11.30pm, picked Kae Sen up from intern house and off we went to Putrajaya singing along to The Corrs throughout the whole journey. Picked a spot, under the bridge and waited for time to pass. Wasn’t long. Then it happened.

2013 left. Without much notice, only 2014 blasting itself, announcing its arrival to the world at quite a distant from where we stood. Kae Sen wasn’t in the picture because he was on the phone.

Totally random. Totally.. different?

The view of the underside of the bridge at night with it’s reflection was purely awesome. I fervently wished I had my camera and my tripod with me. No joke.

Time Portal, Putrajaya.

After the firework was over, we didn’t know what to do and some of us were hungry. 😀 Thus, the answer was dim sum at Kuchai Lama. I think we reached there around 1.30am? Ate so much until we all had enough and just sat there crapped the whole night. With Kae Sen there, laughter was guaranteed. I think we made the most noise there and by the time we left the place, it was 3 in the morning, first day of 2014. Made our way back to hostel but the gate was closed on us, so Iylia dropped all of us at intern’s house and Jivi, Wen Jun and I crashed at intern house. Jivi and I slept in the living room. 😆

Though, NYE didn’t really turn out as how I thought it’d be, it ended somehow with a smile. Well, things happen for a reason?

Room mate and I.

Wen Jun sent us back after getting his car from his hostel at 7 in the morning(how could we live without our LCP), cleaned myself up and went back to sleep until 12 in the afternoon. Only had lunch at about 2 because my room mate woke up at 1.15, something like that. Again, on a random decision, dragged my room mate out to Mid Valley and met up with an idiot a friend. 😛 Was supposed to have sushi but ended up having Alexis AGAIN. 😯 No joke, really sugar overload because we went for 47 Ronin and again, there was pop corn.

It was a weird combination of people hanging, or rather looming around the mall. Rather weird. And the first day of the year was ended with Mc D as supper at Bangsar, again, FML.

What’s wrong with me and Bangsar? It used to be the woman and I’s favourite hang out spot. We love parking our car and just wander down the empty streets where only few shops would be open. It was quiet. It was peaceful.

Now I’ve over-visited it.

Coursemates.

You would have thought that sugar intake would stop. It was too much that I’ve started growing wary on even having granola bars as breakfast, the thought of it made me want to puke. I was dying for something salty, something food the next day. Spent the whole 2nd January studying for my first paper.

And yesterday, since it’s already 5th now, went to have lunch with the course mates after my second paper. The meal was awesome, Hot soup at Kajang. Initially, they wanted to go Karaoke at Setia Walk because Loudspeaker is having promotion (I know right, second paper like finish finals already. 🙄 ).

But changed of plan: Dessert at Publika.

And thus, this happened..

Mad about coco, Publika.

Though shared with the course mate, but still it was a little bit too much. The chocolate was too nice and didn’t want to waste it. Translation: I finished half of the chocolate and it was really sweet.

I guess I really had to cut down on sugar intake. Seriously.

Thus, that is. The sweetest week of my life. Literally. So sweet. 😳

Should be studying or maybe sleep early. But, for the first time in forever, a long ass post on what’s up. I’ve missed the steady rhythm of my fingers dancing across the keys on my laptop. The humming as my fingers hit each keys that makes me feel better as thoughts flow through my moving hands. I’ve missed this, too.

Gonna end this post with a screenshot of a video call from my sister. 🙂 Ignore my face, a successful attempt in making the mischievous little boy smiled at me.

Love him 😀

Screenshot of video call with #boiboier

Have an awesome year ahead, to me, myself and I. And to all those reading this. To those who matter and to those who care.

Here’s to another year of unfolding adventures.

Love and scribbled,

Mich.

Penny for your thoughts?

